by on February 16, 2020

The Most Valuable Player award for the NBA All-Star Game has been permanently named for Kobe Bryant, the basketball legend who died last month in a helicopter crash, NBA Commissioner Adam Silver announced on Saturday.

“Kobe Bryant is synonymous with NBA All-Star and embodies the spirit of this global celebration of our game,” Silver said. “He always relished the opportunity to compete with the best of the best and perform at the highest level for millions of fans around the world.”

Kobe Bryant, pictured here in 2011, won the NBA All-Star Game MVP award four times

The Kobe Bryant MVP Award will be presented on Sunday at the conclusion of the 2020 All-Star Game, which is being held in Chicago. The recipient of the award will be chosen by NBA fans, who account for 25% of the vote, and a media panel, which accounts for 75% of the vote.

Bryant, his young daughter Gianna and seven other people died when the helicopter they were traveling in crashed in hilly terrain near Calabasas, California, on Jan. 26. They will be honored at the All-Star Game this weekend, the NBA said.











Source: Yahoo Sports News

Posted in: Entertainment, Sports
Be the first person to like this.
Be the first person to like this.